Series UR-017-16 - Ad Hoc Committee on University Government

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Ad Hoc Committee on University Government

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on the contents of the series.

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

1 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Senate of Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, was created in 1966 when Mount Saint Vincent College became Mount Saint Vincent University under Bill 85, granting the University a Charter. Some of the Committees that are now standing committees of Senate do predate Senate, such as the Student Affairs Committee and the Committee on Academic Policy and Planning. The Senate is responsible for the academic policy of the University and regulates the academic programs of the University. The size and membership of the Senate, and the terms of office of its members, are determined by the by-laws of the Senate, subject to Section 8 of the University Charter. Voting members are the President; the Academic Vice-president of the University; the Administrative Vice-president of the University; the Deans; the University Librarian; the Registrar; faculty members elected by the faculty; students elected by the students and such other persons as the Senate from time to time determines. The Chair of Senate is the University President. Senate meets on the last Monday of each month throughout the University session. These meetings are generally open to the University community, subject to limitations including special considerations of confidentiality. All Senate standing and ad-hoc committees report directly to Senate.

Custodial history

Scope and content

The Executive Committee of Senate established an ad hoc committee on University Government (also known as the University Government Committee) at a meeting held 1st October, 1970. This committee established other ad hoc and sub-committees when needed to examine various issues of interest to Senate.

Series forms part of the Mount Saint Vincent University Senate fonds and consists of minutes of meetings of the Sub-Committee for the Study of Senate Structure, a subcommittee of the Committee on University Government (1970-1971). Records were generated when the committee studied the function, membership and composition of Senate and the criteria for election to Senate. Series also consists of memos and minutes of meetings of the Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Composition, formed in October 1979 by the Committee on University Government, to study the composition of Senate. This ad hoc committee generated these records when studying the composition of Senate with respect to the further representation of part-time students and Student Services (1979-1980).

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

  • Arabic

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Copyright Mount Saint Vincent University Archives unless otherwise noted on the records.

Finding aids

Series file list is available.

Associated materials

Related materials


No further accruals are expected.

General note

Accession number: 2003-255

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Minutes of meetings of the Committee on University Government, the Subcommittee for the Study of Senate Structure and the Ad Hoc Committee on Senate Composition.

Accession area