Print preview Close

Showing 125 results

Archival description
UR-025 · Collection · 1886-2006

Collection consists of artifacts donated by Mount Saint Vincent University and MSVU alumni, including medals and pendants awarded to graduates (1886-1940), souvenir pins for the Mount's 60th anniversary (1985), various Mount Scholar pins and MSVU lapel pins, medals from the Sodality Club, patches and stamps of the Mount Saint Vincent crest and coat of arms, Mount Saint Vincent College song lyrics, a Bachelor of Arts hood from the first commencement (1929), a leaf from the laurel crowns worn by graduates (1939), MSVU banners, and other Mount Saint Vincent ephemera including the papal flag, plaques awarded to Dr. Naomi Hersom, and commemorative items from building openings including keys, ribbons, plaques, trowels, and posters.

Collection includes plaques from the original Evaristus Chapel and items that were formerly housed in the MacDonald Collection room, including bookends, a Shakespeare bust, and various decorative boxes and cups.

Collection also consists of items donated by the Alumnae Association, including the Alumnae news letterhead, Director’s gavel, Alumnae weekend trophy (1994), Shine-rama t-shirt, and Alumnae Association pins, as well as items donated by the Sisters of Charity, including the School of Music seal stamp, an Infant of Prague statue, and a vase painted by Fide de Bedia who was an alumnae of Mount Saint Vincent Academy (1905-1909).

Box UR-025-005 also contains textual records and correspondence regarding the Mount Saint Vincent crest, coat of arms, and seal, as well as notes on the MSVU mace, and pocket calendars with directions of the College Mistress (Warden) regarding student activities (1950s).

UR-025-001-09 · Item · 1988
Part of Mount Saint Vincent University Artifact collection

Marble paperweight with MSVU crest and plaque reading “Proclamation Charter of 1988 July 8.”

Paperweights were given to Sister Louise Bray (New Chancellor), the Honourable Joel R. Matheson, the Honourable Edmund Morris, Most Reverend James M. Hayes, and members of the MSVU Charter Committee: Sister Paule Cantin (chairperson, MSVU Corporation), Dale Godsoe (chair, Board of Governors), Larry Hayes (appointed by MSVU Corporation), Sister Patricia Mullins (appointed by MSVU Corporation), Mary Clancy (Board of Governors), Dr. Naomi Hersom (President), Dr. Michael MacMillan (Senate representative), Dr. Rosemarie Sampson (Faculty representative), Lisa Chippett (student representative), and Paula Wedge (alumnae representative).