Series UR-017-5 - Committee on Academic Policy and Planning

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Committee on Academic Policy and Planning

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

  • Source of title proper: Title based on the contents of the series.

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1957-1987, 1991-1992 (Creation)
    Mount Saint Vincent University. Senate

Physical description area

Physical description

70 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Senate of Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, was created in 1966 when Mount Saint Vincent College became Mount Saint Vincent University under Bill 85, granting the University a Charter. Some of the Committees that are now standing committees of Senate do predate Senate, such as the Student Affairs Committee and the Committee on Academic Policy and Planning. The Senate is responsible for the academic policy of the University and regulates the academic programs of the University. The size and membership of the Senate, and the terms of office of its members, are determined by the by-laws of the Senate, subject to Section 8 of the University Charter. Voting members are the President; the Academic Vice-president of the University; the Administrative Vice-president of the University; the Deans; the University Librarian; the Registrar; faculty members elected by the faculty; students elected by the students and such other persons as the Senate from time to time determines. The Chair of Senate is the University President. Senate meets on the last Monday of each month throughout the University session. These meetings are generally open to the University community, subject to limitations including special considerations of confidentiality. All Senate standing and ad-hoc committees report directly to Senate.

Custodial history

Scope and content

The Committee on Academic Policy and Planning is currently a standing committee of Senate, although prior to 1966 it reported to the President. Until 1987 this Committee was referred to as the Academic Committee, the Committee on Academic Affairs, or the Academic Affairs Committee. The function of the Academic Committee was to act as liaison between the Faculty and the University Administration in academic matters and to deal with academic matters in general. The Academic Policy and Planning Committee oversees the Graduate Studies Committee (which was a Sub-Committee struck in 1969 which met until 1989), the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (was the Curriculum Sub-Committee until 1987) and the Alternative Approaches to Teaching Committee. In 1988 it also oversaw the Cooperative Education Sub-Committee and the Departmental Review Sub-Committee. The purpose of the Committee is to serve as consultant and advisor to the Senate on matters dealing with academic policy and planning

The membership of the Committee is the Vice-President (Academic), as chairperson, the Dean of Professional Studies and the Dean of Arts and Science, the Director of Distance Learning and Continuing Education, the Registrar (non-voting), six faculty members, elected by faculty: two representatives from Arts & Science, two representatives from Professional Studies, and two members at large and one third or fourth-year student representative named by student council. Chairs of the Committee have included Sister Margaret Molloy (1973-1974) and Dr. W. J. Shelton (1979-1980).

Series forms part of Mount Saint Vincent University Senate fonds and consists of records generated by the functions of the Academic Policy and Planning Committee, which include: to discuss, review, and study philosophies and concepts of education affecting academic programs and the university; to recommend to the Senate the academic terms on which any faculty, school, institute, centre, department, chair, or course of instruction may be
established or discontinued in the university; to consider proposals from the Undergraduate Curriculum and Graduate Studies Committee as appropriate; to recommend to Senate academic priorities of all undergraduate and graduate courses and programs; review and make recommendations regarding any agreement for academic cooperation made with organizations or institutions external to the university; form ad hoc committees of academic policy and planning as required to further the development of policy and planning of programs which at certain times may require concentrated attention and specific membership expertise; exercise such other functions, powers and duties as may from time to time be conferred on it by the Senate; nominate one of its members to the Graduate
Studies Committee. Fonds consists of inter-office memorandums and minutes of meetings of the Committee for Academic Affairs (1957-1987, 1991-1992); memorandums and guidelines for new course offerings used in decisions made by the Committee (1972-1974);
minutes of meetings of the Policy and Planning Sub-Committee (1979-1980); Three-Year Review of Courses and Programmes (1978-1979); preliminary report of the Sub-Committee on Interdisciplinary Studies (ca. 1970), and correspondence of the Review Sub-Committee (1986-1987).

Fonds also consists of consists of memos proposing a Graduate Studies Committee (1969), which was created that year to recommend the requirements for admission to Graduate study reporting to Senate. After 1989 the Graduate Studies Committee was a Subcommittee
of the Committee on Academic Policy and Planning and reported to Senate through that Standing committee. The membership of the Graduate Studies Sub-Committee
includes a Dean, as Chair, the Registrar, and one faculty member from the Committee on Academic Policy and Planning. Elected members include a member for each department having a graduate program, and one graduate student from each department having graduate programs, to be named by the Graduate Students Association.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

  • Arabic

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Copyright Mount Saint Vincent University Archives unless otherwise noted on the records.

Finding aids

Series file list is available.

Associated materials

Minutes of the Graduate Studies Committee (1974-1978) are held in the MSVU President's Office.

Related materials


No further accruals are expected.

General note

Accession number: 1986-86, 1993-76, 2002-09, 2003-255, 2003-258, 2003-259, 2003-260

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

    Script of description


      MSVU Senate By-laws and Rules of Order 1995 and August 2002.

      Accession area